Robert Laidlaw Club Person of the Year

This award from one of the co-founders of the club, recognises a club member who has strived above and beyond the normal call of duty for the club in a voluntary capacity during the year for the overall benefit of the club and its members. The Club Person of The Year is someone who has made a REAL difference to the Club in that time.


The recipient of this award is someone who:

  • is a role model of the club
  • works for the benefit of the GRBC, dedicated to helping with various activities for the benefit of the sport.
  • works tirelessly without expectation of recognition.
  • is always there to help and assist
  • acts in the best interest of the GRBC
  • is an excellent ambassador for Baseball and the GRBC, in the eyes of the GRBC, members and community alike.
  • Volunteers their time freely and for no financial gain

This person does not have to be an office holder or have any specific job.

No minimum years of service are required to attain this award.


2007/08 – Ken Clark & Mary O’Connor

2008/09 – Ken Clark

2009/10 – Geoff Young

2010/11 – Mark Amphlett

2011/12 – Pip Laver & Steve Allen

2012/13 – Graham Mayfield

2013/14 – Graham Mayfield

2014/15 – Ian Skewes

2015/16 – Shaun Clark

2016/17 – Brooke Skewes

2017/18 – Kerry Okeil & Ian Skewes

2018/19 – Simon & Naomi Oxford

2019/20 – Darko Filko

2020/21 – Tracy Filko